Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Versatile Blogger Award + Our Lives Right Now

versatile-award

 

Thank you so much Written Word Worlds for the nomination!

The Rules:

1.) Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog

2.) Write seven facts about yourself (I’m doing this as a sort of life update)

3.) Link to 15 (or as many as you can) other blogs and let them know you nominated them!

Seven Facts & Updates:

Gwen:

1.) Last Saturday I competed in the Vermont State Forensics Tournament. Forensics, also called Speech, is a public speaking event, where you can compete in poetry or prose reading, dramatic performance, impromptu speeches, extemporaneous speech, etc. I double, meaning I compete in two events: poetry and prose reading. This is my second year competing but this year I won first place in both poetry and prose for the State tournament, breaking a Vermont record! I’m still so amazed… I have no idea how I did it!

2.) More in poetry, I also write it when I have the time, and my poem Hazy Days was recently published in the Vermont Young Writer’s Project online newspaper The Voice (pg. 21), and it is also on VT Digger and was read on Vermont Public Radio (ah this gives away my real name… oh well it’s about time!) as well!

3.) You guessed it… even more poetry! February is apparently my personal poetry month! An upcoming event I’ll be participating in for the second year in a row is our school’s Poetry Out Loud competition, a national poetry recitation contest. I won the school last year, moving on to state regionals, but I hope to get to finals this year. We’ll see!

4.) When I’m not performing poetry, I’m reading about Ancient Rome! I’m currently taking an online honors class through Virtual High School called The Glory of Ancient Rome, and it is fascinating! I love Latin and history, so this is the perfect combination of the two!

Kate:

5.) The tips of my hair are still dyed red with henna from many months ago!

6.) I just participated in a Math Counts competition — Gwen and I have been doing a lot of competing lately!

7.) Our family is going on a trip to Scotland during April break this year. We’re so excited!

Nominations:

Always Opinionated Girl

All the Books! Books: The Final Frontier

Forever Y.A.

Books and Burlap

Falling Down the Book Hole

Lilajune’s Book Saloon

The Hopeful Heroine

The Bashful Bibliophile

One comment on “Versatile Blogger Award + Our Lives Right Now

  1. Pingback: My Week in a Wrapped #21 | EverythingNyze

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2015 by in Author: Gwen, Author: Kate, Awards, Library and tagged , .