Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen & Kate are Trying to Keep Calm About Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Imagine a book about Harry Potter. Except he’s having some trouble getting his magic to work, and his roommate is Draco Malfoy. Who’s currently missing. And also a vampire. And there’s a lot of kissing involved…. Introducing Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell. Hands-down the most squeal-worthy book I’ve read all year.

23734628

Series: None!

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, GLBT, Romance, Paranormal

Format: Audiobook, narrated by Euan Morton

Rating: 5+ stars!!!

Description:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.
That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.
Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.
Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

Review:

Imagine a book about Harry Potter. Except he’s having some trouble getting his magic to work, and his roommate is Draco Malfoy. Who’s currently missing. And also a vampire. And there’s a lot of kissing involved…. Introducing Carry On, by Rainbow Rowell. Hands-down the most squeal-worthy book I’ve read all year.

This book really feels like an amazing surprise dessert with lots of chocolate drizzled on top flew over and landed in my lap. I must admit I judged this book by its cover. I’d read Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park a few years ago, and didn’t love it. Realistic contemporary fiction just really isn’t my thing. And because of this book’s author and cover, I assumed it was another realistic fiction novel and didn’t give it a second glace… until I started looking into YA LGBT novels that also happened to be fantasy books for a book list I’m currently working on, and this one kept popping up. I checked out the audiobook and started listening the next day. And then didn’t stop till I finished it. At which point I did a happy dance around my kitchen (Kate just stared at me), cried a bit inside because it was over, begged to go to the bookstore the next day to buy it (so I could immediately re-read it–seriously), and put Fangirl on hold.

As for the book itself, I did find the beginning a bit slow action-wise, but the not-so-subtle Harry Potter references kept me entertained until Baz showed up. And then things got exciting. While Carry On really is a fantasy story about battling monsters with magic, it’s a very character-driven tale, and the romance is what wraps it all together. I don’t want to give too much away (but really, it’s obvious), but let’s just say I spent hours on Pinterest after finishing this book reading Snowbaz jokes and browsing fan art (I’ve included my four favorites on the bottom of this post). This book has a serious following, and understandably so. It combines nostalgic feelings for Harry Potter with a new twist, creating a more light-hearted and funny stand-alone.

Kate’s Two Cents: I only read this for the romance. I didn’t really love the plot but I made it through, and in the end it was totally worth it! Books similar to Harry Potter are becoming more and more common, and though this was definitely present (the setting and characters were very similar) in Carry On, the plot and magic style were very unique.

P.S. For the Fellow Fangirls:

One comment on “Gwen & Kate are Trying to Keep Calm About Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Gwen’s Love of the Elemental Trilogy by Sherry Thomas | Gwen & Kate's Library

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2016 by in Author: Gwen, Author: Kate, Favorites, Review, Young Adult and tagged , , , .
