Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Little Free Library Project!

I was walking down the hall at my high school, Champlain Valley Union, the other day, when I stumbled upon the idea of filling the top compartment of my locker with books… free books for other people to enjoy! The next week I made a sign, talked to Peter the librarian, stuffed an eraser in the lock, filled it to the top with free books (all in very good condition and some even recent releases), and crossed my fingers people would notice.

pasted image 0pasted image 0 (1)

(Photo credit: TJ Mead)

They did! First two days out in the world and two books have been taken, one has been added, and my library was even featured in our school’s weekly celebrations newsletter. I’ve got an ever-growing stack of great books at home waiting to be released with little library card bookmarks that explain the rules (either take a book and leave a book, or take a book and return it once you’re done reading it) and give some brief information about each book.

I’m so glad to have started a second library. My first, Gwen & Kate’s, is merely a room at my house full of books and joy, but CVU’s Little Free Library shares that joy with hundreds of other readers!

3 comments on “Gwen’s Little Free Library Project!

  1. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    October 19, 2015

    This is such a fabulous idea. You are a genius! This is a great way of sharing reading with everyone in your school. I wish I could do something like that in my school. You truly do inspire me. X

    • gwenkate
      October 20, 2015

      Thanks so much! I’m quite honored :-) ~Gwen

  2. Matthew
    November 6, 2015

    This is awesome! You can check out my little free library here: https://freelandlittlefreelibrary.wordpress.com/

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2015 by in Author: Gwen, Library, Photos and tagged .
