Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Thoughts on Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan

While I enjoyed listening to it, Of Bees and Mist would not have held my attention if I had read it in print format, and it is not a book I will ever re-visit. My favorite thing about this book, embarrassingly enough, would have to be the creative title and the beautiful cover design! 

6240758

Series: None

Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Magical Realism, Romance, Contemporary

Format: Audiobook, narrated by Marguerite Gavin

Rating: 3.5 stars

Description:

Of Bees and Mist is an engrossing fable that chronicles three generations of women under one family tree and places them in a mythical town where spirits and spells, witchcraft and demons, and prophets and clairvoyance are an everyday reality.

Meridia grows up in a lonely home until she falls in love with Daniel at age sixteen. Soon, they marry, and Meridia can finally escape to live with her charming husband’s family—unaware that they harbor dark mysteries of their own. As Meridia struggles to embrace her life as a young bride, she discovers long-kept secrets about her own past as well as shocking truths about her new family that push her love, courage, and sanity to the brink.

Erick Setiawan’s astonishing debut is a richly atmospheric and tumultuous ride of hope and heartbreak that is altogether touching, truthful, and memorable.

Review:

My good friend Lydia offered this book as another one of her amazing recommendations (it’s her I have to thank for The Thirteenth Tale, The Time Traveler’s Wife, Moonwalking with Einstein, and many more!), so I immediately requested it on Listen Up! Vermont. While I enjoyed listening to it, Of Bees and Mist would not have held my attention if I had read it in print format, and it is not a book I will ever re-visit. My favorite thing about this book, embarrassingly enough, would have to be the creative title and the beautiful cover design!

I found Of Bees and Mist to have a rather messy plotline that didn’t sit well with me. I had no idea where the thread of the book was leading, and where it did end up wasn’t entirely satisfying. I certainly wouldn’t have kept reading it if I wasn’t listening to the audiobook version, which tends to encourage me to continue.

The story of the book is very fairy-tale-esque, which was new for me to read in an adult format (I’m used to middle grade, occasionally young adult). This particular fairy tale didn’t seem to be based off any traditional ones I knew, but had all the necessary themes and characters: romance, curses, mysterious magic, and of course, evil mother-in-laws. The characters as a whole were all very fascinating, unique creatures I’ve never encountered the likes of before.

All in all, Of Bees and Mist was a slight disappointment, but I am always glad to read more adult level novels, which are certainly more sophisticated than many of the YA publications coming out recently. And thanks to Lydia, both The Thirteenth Tale and The Time Traveler’s Wife are high up on my favorites list, likewise on my lengthy to re-read list!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2015 by in Adult, Author: Gwen, Review and tagged , .
