Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Along the Lines Of… (#1) Cinder by Marissa Meyer (New Feature!)

Along the Lines Of… is a weekly feature/meme held every Sunday here at Gwen & Kate’s Library, in which we provide a list of at least three recommended books with a similar author, writing style, genre, you name it!, to a popular or well-known book, either one provided on our blog or one of your own. (*Image coming soon!)

How I’m going to be organizing my posts is with lists of book titles and their covers organized under categories such as similar author, themes, writing style, genre, “feeling,” etc. I’ll also be sure to note if I haven’t read the book I’m recommending (this won’t happen often, but if there is a book that is clearly similar, I might decide to add it for fun). But if you’d like to add this feature to your blog (please please please do!!!), you can feel free to organize however you want. Each week I’ll post next week’s book (see bottom of post) if you would like to add your recommendations for that same book, or you can choose your own!

This week’s (our first!) Along the Lines Of… is Cinder by Marissa Meyer, chosen because of the fantastic excitement that was shown in favor of my earlier Waiting on Wednesday post on Fairest, the crossover book coming out in January.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

11235712

Along the Lines Of… in Writing Style: 

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

10429092

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16034235

Along the Lines Of… in Genre (Science Fiction):

Dangerous by Shannon Hale

8585924

The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

8573642

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635

Along the Lines Of… in Genre (Re-Told Fairy Tale): 

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

ScarletUS.indd

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Beauty by Robin McKinley

A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan (Note: I haven’t read it!)

Any other you would recommend that are similar to Cinder or any others in the Lunar Chronicles series?

If this is a feature you would like to do as well, just copy the description and image onto your blog, be sure to include a link to Gwen & Kate’s Library, write a recommendations list for either Cinder or another book, and enter the link of your post in the comments below (I can set up a better link organizer later, once I know how many people will be doing this feature).

Next week’s Along the Lines Of… book will be These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

(This post is a part of the So Behind! Review-A-Thon Challenge.)

4 comments on “Along the Lines Of… (#1) Cinder by Marissa Meyer (New Feature!)

  1. Molly Mortensen
    October 12, 2014

    Cool idea for a meme! I think it would be really hard to match books though, because ever author’s voice is so unique. If I did it I’d probably go by feel, mood & atmosphere of the book.

    • gwenkate
      October 12, 2014

      Thanks! And yes, that’s totally okay — I hope you do try it out! I did the feeling thing too, among others — Shadow and Bone and Throne of Glass have very little to do with Cinder, but they both have a similar feeling/writing style/modern YA genre, etc. This meme is pretty easy to do, because Goodreads already provides you with a pretty big list — but it’s fun to see what other people think, and how they choose to organize it. I really hope other people try it out! Thanks for the comment! ~Gwen

  2. ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят
    October 12, 2014

    This is super cool! Though I don’t see the similarities between it and The Selection, maybe I’m forgetting something.
    With A Long Long Sleep it could also fit with similarities in Sci-Fi! They both have robots/ androids. You should totally read it, it’s super good, and it’s a retelling of my favorite Disney princess (:

    • gwenkate
      October 13, 2014

      Thank you. My The Selection connection is that the societies and genres are similar, and I suppose it could also fall in the similar writing style/feeling/themes (some of these books are a little far-fetched, I suppose, but they are all good!). Thanks for the A Long Long Sleep recommendation — I’ll put it on my to-read list. ~Gwen

What do you think?

