Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Top Ten Tuesday #16: Best Character Driven Novels

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish blog. This week’s theme is Top Ten Best Character Driven Novels. This was a hard list for me to write, and I’m not entirely sure if all of these books would actually count as character-driven, but they are all good nonetheless. Unfortunately with my busy schedule and Kate’s unwillingness to do anything blog related, we were not able to post a Top Ten Tuesday list last week.

10.) A Company of Swans by Eve Ibbotson

963274

9.) Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

16250900

8.) The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison

7.) Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

76847

6.) Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753

5.) Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

8573642

4.) Paper Towns by John Green

6442769

3.) The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

448873

2.) The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

693208

1.) The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

14050

Are character-driven novels ones you enjoy, or do you like plot-driven novels better? For me, it entirely depends on the book — I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife, but was slightly bored with the slow plot of A Company of Swans.

6 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #16: Best Character Driven Novels

  1. stephaniesbookreviews
    October 7, 2014

    Rainbow Rowell definitely writes some amazing characters!

    • gwenkate
      October 7, 2014

      Yup! Have you read some of her other books as well (besides Eleanor and Park)? Do you have a favorite character?

      • stephaniesbookreviews
        October 7, 2014

        I’ve read all of her books. Attachments is definitely my favorite character. I love Lincoln! I also love Levi in Fangirl. What about you?

      • gwenkate
        October 7, 2014

        I’ve only read Eleanor and Park, so only have those two characters to choose between (and that’s impossible!). But I hope to read more of Rainbow’s books in the future! Thanks! ~Gwen

  2. Yay for The Time Travellers Wife. I’m happy to see it on someone else’s list!

    I definitely need to read Code Name Verity soon!

    • gwenkate
      October 8, 2014

      I adored the Time Traveler’s Wife! Code Name Verity was okay… not my favorite book but a very interesting and unique read. ~Gwen

What do you think?

