Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Thoughts on Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

The second book in the Anna and the French Kiss series does not disappoint! I read it in (almost) one sitting, staying up way past my bedtime just to finish this fantastic book!

16101168

Series: Anna and the French Kiss, Book 2

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary Fiction, Realistic Fiction

Rating: 4.5 stars

Description:

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Review:

The second book in the Anna and the French Kiss series does not disappoint! I read it in (almost) one sitting, staying up way past my bedtime just to finish this fantastic book!

There were however some parts of this book that I didn’t like, which makes it fall slightly short of my love for Anna and the French Kiss. First of all, as a high schooler, I know that school and homework is a huge part of my life, and if a book were to be written about me, it would definitely be included. Lola and the Boy Next Door barely ever mentions school or homework, and it definitely isn’t a setting in any part of the book. This seemed strange to me, and as if I was only getting a small picture of Lola’s life out of the book, especially after Anna and the French Kiss revolving so much around her school experience.

In addition, although I did find myself learning to like Lola throughout the course of the book, it was hard to understand her decisions in some cases, mostly that of dating Max. I hate Max with a burning passion, and find it hard to understand anyone who would claim to “love” him. I suppose it is because it is just so opposite to my own preferences (as in a lack of cigarette-tasting kisses, pot smoking all around you, and hard rock bands) that it is hard for me personally to wrap my mind around.

What Stephanie Perkins does best is writing in a style of prose that is so brainless to read, your brain can’t picture doing anything else but continuing to read. I literally (yes, this is a hyperbole) could not tear my eyes from the pages!

Luckily, I was smart enough to purchase Isla’s (I love that name! Pronounced Eye-la not Iz-la) book, the third and final book in the series, Isla and the Happily Ever After, before reading Lola and the Boy Next Door, so I could leap right in immediately after finishing!

Have you read this series? Are you as much of a fan as I am (or more)? Any other similar books you’d recommend?

2 comments on “Gwen’s Thoughts on Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    September 8, 2014

    I have just bought the first book after reading so many good things about it. Would you recommend I put it to the top of my TBR pile? X

    • gwenkate
      September 8, 2014

      Fantastic! Yes, you should put it on the top — but only if you have the other two as well! Although it isn’t like Girl About Time (Ruby Red) in the sense that all three books should be one, you get addicted to the writing and story style and will want to read two more tales after finishing Anna and the French Kiss!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2014 by in Author: Gwen, Favorites, Review, Young Adult and tagged , , .
