Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Summer Challenge: Blankets by Craig Thompson (Graphic Novel)

Blankets is by far the deepest graphic novel I have ever read. It was long (582 beautifully illustrated pages), but it was worth it. Blankets was an interesting read, because being a graphic novel memoir, you treat the main character both as a character and a real person as you read it.

25179

Series: None

Genres: Young Adult/Adult, Graphic Novel, Romance, Coming of Age

Rating: 3.5 stars

Description:

Wrapped in the landscape of a blustery Wisconsin winter, Blankets explores the sibling rivalry of two brothers growing up in the isolated country, and the budding romance of two coming-of-age lovers. A tale of security and discovery, of playfulness and tragedy, of a fall from grace and the origins of faith.

Book Review:

Blankets is by far the deepest graphic novel I have ever read. It was long (582 beautifully illustrated pages), but it was worth it. Blankets was an interesting read, because being a graphic novel memoir, you treat the main character both as a character and a real person as you read it. I did find myself reading this book very quickly, and not being able to put it down, but this is something I’ve noticed about all graphic novels I read, not something unique to this book.

One thing I wasn’t expecting was the strong theme of religion and questioning that religion. Not being a religious person myself, this wasn’t something I could really connect to, and I didn’t understand some references.

This book is very romantic (definitely a young adult book — don’t be fooled by the graphic novel format!), and is a perfect coming of age story… except that it also ends like most coming of age books. (Spoiler) Maybe it’s real but the story was very predictable, and the slow drifting apart of the two main characters was sad but understandable. Nonetheless, it made for a bittersweet ending, which I’m still not sure if I liked or not.

Finally, a warning: don’t read this book in bed–it will hurt your arms (582 pages!!!).

Genre Review: Graphic Novel

The illustrations in this book were not my favorite, but they fit the mood of the books and the 582 pages of them made them very impressive. And the flirtatious scenes were very well depicted, such as this one:

I love graphic novels on principle, but I have found them harder to judge by their cover, description, review, or first line (or however other people judge books) than novels. Sometimes I’m in for a pleasant surprise, such as in Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, one of my favorite graphic novels, but sometimes, as is the case with Blankets, I’m a little disappointed.

One comment on “Gwen’s Summer Challenge: Blankets by Craig Thompson (Graphic Novel)

  1. Pingback: Gwen’s Reviews of Recently Read Graphic Novels | Gwen & Kate's Library

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2014 by in Adult, Author: Gwen, Gwen's Summer 2014 Genre Challenge, Review, Young Adult and tagged , .
