Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Impression of Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Siege and Storm is a fantastic sequel to Shadow and Bone! It doesn’t feel like a middle book at all, and is a wonderful story with new characters, strong conflicts on multiple levels, and great drive. 

14061955

Series: The Grisha Trilogy, Book 2

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Rating: 4.5 stars

Description:

Darkness never dies. Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

Review:

Siege and Storm is a fantastic sequel to Shadow and Bone! It doesn’t feel like a middle book at all, and is a wonderful story with new characters, strong conflicts on multiple levels, and great drive.

I adore Sturmhond, the privateer (pirate). He never answers anyone’s questions directly, always has a clever comment up his sleeve, and is as sharp as a fox.

“‘… I like to have powerful enemies. Makes me fell important.’

Mal crossed his arms and considered the privateer. ‘I can’t decide if you’re crazy or stupid.’

‘I have so many good qualities,’ Sturmhond said. ‘It can be hard to choose.'”

The beginning was a little slow and hard to get into, but I am aware that this is mostly because I was quite busy while trying to read this book and didn’t have a lot of time or energy to spend pleasure reading. In fact, unfortunately enough, many of my thoughts and reviews of books are very reliant on what my life is like at the time of my reading. If I have time to read a book in one sitting, I tend to enjoy it much much more than if I read a chapter every other day.

Something else I love about this series, and more specific than just saying again how unique and beautiful it is, is the before and after chapters, which are told in third person without using the main characters names, instead referring to Alina and Mal as “the girl and boy.” I find these chapters beautifully written, and fit nicely with the rest of the story, serving as an informative and descriptive prologue and epilogue.

One problem I have with this book and series is that although I really like Mal, I don’t really like Mal and Alina. They just don’t seem to work with each other very well, and they don’t act like lifelong childhood friends, either. (Spoiler) I find myself voting for Nikolai, actually (no way the Darkling — never!).

I can’t wait to read the final book in the series (as soon as I get it from the library holds list), which was finally released this summer: Ruin and Rising!

4 comments on “Gwen’s Impression of Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Girl in the Pages
    August 16, 2014

    I agree, I think siege and storm was a fantastic book despite being the second book in a series, which tend to be my least favorite. And I agree with you 100%, I am not a fan of Mal and Alina and I really don’t feel any chemistry between them!

  2. ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят
    September 4, 2014

    Getting Shadow and Bone soon! So excited to start this series (:

  3. Molly Mortensen
    September 16, 2014

    I was impressed with this book too! I don’t really like Mal very much, I’d rather rhe Darkling than him, but I’m with you I like Nikolai!

    • gwenkate
      September 16, 2014

      Thanks for the comment — I loved your post on this series too (although I had to skip the Ruin and Rising section because I still haven’t been able to get my hands on it!). And I’m glad I’m not the only one who prefers Nikolai to Mal (although I sincerely doubt she’ll end up with him…)
      ~Gwen

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2014 by in Author: Gwen, Review, Young Adult and tagged , , .
