Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Top Ten Tuesday #9: Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish blog. This week’s theme is Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read, whether books I may have bought years ago and am not sure I’m into anymore, books I wanted to read but heard mixed reviews about, hyped books I’m not sure about, any books I can’t decide “to read or not to read?”

10.) Every Day by David Levithan

This is not my type of book at all, but it has been on many recommended reading lists. I listened to the beginning on audiobook and it didn’t keep my interest and I didn’t love it. I’m not sure if I will continue with the book.

9.) The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

I read and didn’t adore the first book in the series, The Maze Runner, and now I can’t decide if I want to continue the series.

8.) Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

I love Maria V. Snyder, but I really just can’t imagine her being able to pull off a dystopia novel after reading her fantastic medieval fantasy.

7.) The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

This book has interested me for a while, but fairy worlds are not usually a topic I enjoy. Or love triangles.

6.) The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

I’ve taken this book out of the library twice and never actually read it past the first chapter. And the first chapter was not entirely to my liking, so I’m not sure if I want to read the rest of this huge book.

5.) These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman

This book looks good, and all the reviews are amazing, but it doesn’t look like my type, and I’m not sure if it is worth it to fit it into my busy reading schedule.

4.) The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

I loved this author’s middle grade The Kronos Chronicles series (beginning with The Cabinet of Wonders), but strongly disliked her young adult The Shadow Society, and fear that this book will disappoint me as well. However, the cover is enticing.

3.) Cast in Shadow by Michelle Sagara

This book has been on my to-read list for a year, but I still haven’t been able to get my hands on a print copy (which I prefer to ebooks). I’m not sure if I want to read it because the world seems very complicated, and although the description reminds me of Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder, it also seems very dense and maybe too complex for my liking.

2.) The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke

I read the first book in the series, The Assassin’s Curse, and liked it somewhat, but I’m not sure that the second book is worth purchasing, because none of the libraries in my area have it. Luckily it isn’t a trilogy, but I still can’t decide if I care enough to finish the story.

1.) The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

This book looks like my kind of book, but it has many very negative reviews and I don’t know if I want to or have to read the first book in the series, Angels & Demons, first in order to understand it.

What are your thoughts? I need some help here — which books are worth it and which ones aren’t? Have you read any of these and what do you think about them?

5 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #9: Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

  1. anotherafterthought
    August 13, 2014

    I haven’t read anything of Levithan’s yet, but when I do, I think I’ll probably dabble with Every Day just to get a sense of what it’s about (even though I’m suspecting that I’ll be bored out of my mind–contemporary isn’t my usual flair).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  2. Allyson Goodwin
    August 13, 2014

    I enjoyed Every Day; i kept trying to determine if the narrator was originally a male or female…it was interesting to imagine life and seeing from a different perspective each day. So I think it is worth reading
    I did like the Maze Runner enough to try Scorch Trials. But i gave up…so i think you are right to let it go.
    Unfortunately i know very little about your remaining 8 titles. Might have to give them a go

    • gwenkate
      August 13, 2014

      Thank you for the advice! I think I’ll do what you suggest with The Scorch Trials, but I’ll have to see about Every Day. Thanks for your input, though — it’s very appreciated!

  3. Girl in the Pages
    August 15, 2014

    I think the reason the Da Vinci code has a lot of negative reviews is because it got so big, and was turned into a movie, and Dan Brown got so popular, so it attracted a lot of both good and bad press, and was probably overhyped. I read both Angels and Demons and the Da Vinci Code years ago when they were released, and I really enjoyed them because they’re intriguing stories with a lot of history and creative speculation. You don’t need to read Angels and Demons first, although both books feature the same protagonist. I think it’s worth giving it a shot!

    • gwenkate
      August 15, 2014

      Great, thanks for the advice! I’ll add it to my lengthy to-read list. It seems to be a good match for all the mysteries I’ve been reading lately, so maybe that will move it up a bit (I tend to read similarly-themed books after each other). Thanks again! ~Gwen

What do you think?

