Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Top Ten Tuesday #5: Favorite Movies and TV Shows

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish blog. This week’s theme is Top Ten Favorite Movies or TV Shows, organized any way you want. So I’m going to keep it to movie adaptations of books since this is a book blog, after all (and that really doesn’t narrow it down at all – it seems that most movies are based on books nowadays). I am basing my rating of these movies both on how much I enjoyed the movie, and how well it is based off the book. (Note: I have not actually read Prince Caspian, The Princess Bride, or The Chimneys of Green Knowe by Lucy M. Boston, which From Time to Time is based upon.)

Top Ten Favorite Movie Adaptations of Books:

10.) Hugo

9.) Tintin

8.) Narnia: Prince Caspian

7.) From Time to Time

6.) Little Women

5.) The Princess Bride

4.) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

3.) The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

2.) Howl’s Moving Castle

1.) The Fault in Our Stars

*Bonus: Favorite TV Show: BBC Sherlock

9 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #5: Favorite Movies and TV Shows

  1. caitlinstern
    July 15, 2014

    I really need to see TFioS before it disappears and I have to wait for it to come out on DVD, but I’ve been slow on movie-watching this past few months.

    Love Howl’s Moving Castle!

    • gwenkate
      July 15, 2014

      Yes, you should see TFIOS as soon as possible, and I adore Howl’s Moving Castle! Have you seen any other Studio Ghibli movies? There’re my favorite! I love My Neighbor Totoro, Whisper of the Heart, Castle in the Sky, and From Up on Poppy Hill too!

      • caitlinstern
        July 15, 2014

        I’ve seen some of them–Totoro, Whisper, Ponyo, Secret World of Arrietty… but there’s big ones I’ve missed, and want to see.

  2. gwenkate
    July 15, 2014

    One last minute addition: the Once Upon a Time TV show. Kate and I have been watching it for the past few days and are already obsessed!

  3. Girl in the Pages
    July 15, 2014

    Prisoner of Azkaban is hands down my favorite HP movie! I love the spookier tone and the humor and everyone was just really attractive in that movie haha. Great pick!

    My TTT

  4. tumbling into wonderland
    July 15, 2014

    Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite HP movie, plus I love Howl’s Moving Castle! Great picks!

  5. Alison (@AlisonCanRead)
    July 15, 2014

    Yay for Sherlock. It actually got me into the stories. Now I love the originals too.

    • gwenkate
      July 16, 2014

      That’s how I discovered it too – I’ll have a post on A Study in Scarlet soon!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2014 by in Author: Gwen, Author: Kate, Top Ten Tuesday, Young Adult and tagged .
