Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Top Ten Tuesday #4: Blogging Confessions

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish blog. This week’s theme is Top Ten Blogging or Bookish Confessions, so here goes!

1.) When reading other book blogs for the first time, I judge them by their graphic design, the grammar in their reviews, and the types of books they review and if they fit with my reading and blogging interests.

2.) One of my biggest pet peeves with other posts, emails, or any piece of writing, is incorrect grammar and spelling. I can understand errors (and participate in this myself) in sentence organization, verb tenses, or small typos or mistakes, but I wish people would take more time to read over their writing before they send it or put it on the internet. It literally takes less than 5 minutes and really shows that you care.

3.) I listen to more books than I read nowadays. Listen Up Vermont has become my library, and often I’ll listen to books on there just because they have it, but I would never read it otherwise. I suppose this is a good thing because it has introduced me to a lot of new books and genres I would never have picked up at a library.

4.) I feel like I need to read more genres, especially all the new contemporary fiction and romance books so popular on other blogs. But I only really enjoy books in genres I like, unless they are amazingly well written (like The Fault in Our Stars). So I’m not sure if I should just try them because they are the new thing and reviews are expected of them, or if I should just stick to my personal favorites even if they aren’t everyone else’s.

5.) These days it feels like I have spent more time blogging than actually reading. But then again I feel as if I read faster than I blog. I suppose I just waste a lot of time browsing other blogs and researching books in Goodreads. But in fact, since I started blogging I also stopped my habit of reading before bed every night. Then again, school has gotten a lot harder too…

6.) I can easily read up to six books (during the summer or when I actually have time to read) at a time. These are usually all in different genres, so I don’t get them as easily confused, and then I just cycle through them depending on my mood. For example right now I am reading Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond, a non fiction book that I only read a few pages from each day, taking notes as I go along. At the same time I am listening to The Shadow Throne by Jennifer A. Nielsen, reading Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, and just finished A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle. I am also reading chapters of my Cultural Anthropology textbook each night for the online class I am currently taking, which reads similarly to Guns, Germs, and Steel.

7.) Apparently I am really bad at confessing, because this is all I can think of for the moment! Sorry!

5 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #4: Blogging Confessions

  1. lilajune
    July 8, 2014

    Ahhh yes the blogging black hole that mysteriously consumes reading time!! I know it well! Personally I can’t’ multitask, so I’m either reading a book a day or blogging…. Never both. I’m super impressed by your ability to read many books at once!!! Great post!

  2. Girl in the Pages
    July 9, 2014

    I haven’t ever listened to a book on audio, but I’ve seen more and more bloggers making that transition! Does it allow you to multitask when you listen to them?

    • gwenkate
      July 9, 2014

      Yes – I love audiobooks for that reason. I listen to them when I get dressed in the morning, when in long car rides, when doing craft projects, when out for a walk, everything! One thing that I’m not sure anyone could get used to is that I often read a book in print and listen to an audiobook at the same time (not literally at the same time, but during the same week), so getting them confused is sometimes a possibility. I’ve also sometimes gotten the book out of the library both in audiobook and print form, and then listened or read based of what situation I was in (listening in the car, reading while waiting in a restaurant). I can’t recommend them more – especially any narrated by Katherine Kellgren, my favorite narrator who did the Bloody Jack books by L.A. Meyer and Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Briana
    July 9, 2014

    I’m not really into contemporary books either (never have been, really) although I keep reading that they’re increasing in popularity and fantasy is “out.” I’m sure that’s an overstatement, though. I also didn’t really know fantasy was “in.” I think fantasy is different from paranormal romance and dystopians, which were the last two big fads!

  4. +JMJ+

    I think it’s great that your reading is so eclectic this summer! =)

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2014 by in Author: Gwen, Library, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged .
