Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Top Ten Tuesday #2: YA Book Cover Trends

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish blog. This week’s theme is Ten Book Cover Trends (or just elements of covers) I Like/Dislike. I’m going to twist this to just the top ten Young Adult book cover trends I have been seeing a lot of lately. I have focused mainly on cover trends that I dislike, counting down to my least favorite. However, I tend to dislike any “trends” favoring the unique, more unusual cover designs (as you can see in last week’s Top Ten Tuesday I did on my favorite covers), and I do not dislike most of these covers at all, even if they follow popular trends (in fact, I love the covers of House of Ivy & Sorrow, The Winner’s Curse, Ignite Me, and many more on this list). Also, note that I do not judge books by their covers, although I do think covers will tell you a lot about the style of the book, and I love all the books in this list that I have read (although many I have not).

10. Big Letters

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Huge Dress

10507293

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Big Symbol

8585924

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Big Eyes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Kiss

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Big Lips

images13065840

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Big Head

66441178573642

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Back-View

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Looks Nothing like Character Description

9411983

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Since when does Celaena have white hair? Isn’t Aza supposed to be hideously ugly? For some reason I didn’t picture that when Elisa was described again and again as being overweight.)

1. Headless Fiction Lady

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

40158

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #2: YA Book Cover Trends

  1. caitlinstern
    June 24, 2014

    I can’t quite get behind the decapitated models, either. But I rather like big, elaborate, or bold fonts that take up most of the cover.

    • gwenkate
      June 25, 2014

      Yes, I totally agree – my aim for this list was mostly just to point out some of the main YA cover trends – as I said, I do actually like many of these trends and covers (and the big letters are definitely one of those)!

  2. anotherafterthought
    June 25, 2014

    I think you’ve hit the nail on many of the go-to cover concepts of the YA genre!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  3. marjma2014
    June 27, 2014

    I just love pretty book covers thanks for your post. :)

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2014 by in Author: Gwen, Book List, Top Ten Tuesday, Young Adult and tagged .
