Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Love of The One by Kiera Cass

I have no idea where to start with this book. I’m still in shock. I want to stop typing, pick up the book I bought the day it came out, and read it all over from the beginning. And then twice more. 

15844362

Series: The Selection Trilogy, Book 3

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

Rating: 5 stars!

Description:

The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers’ hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey… Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned.

Review:

I have no idea where to start with this book. I’m still in shock. I want to stop typing, pick up the book (which I bought the day it came out), and read it all over from the beginning. And then twice more.

From the first page till the last, I hung on every word, re-read passages I liked, and just couldn’t put the book down. For at least the last fifty pages, I was desperate enough to find out what was going to happen that I read while walking down the hallway to my next class, which is not a smart or safe thing to do.

The One wraps up all the loose ends, dealing more with the rebel attacks and their motives behind them, and the Elite’s relationships with Maxon and their true feelings and histories. Of course the nerve-racking competition both between America and the other Elite for Prince Maxon’s heart, and Maxon and Aspen’s battle for America’s love are concluded in… well, I won’t give it away.

Although this series is not the most original I have ever read, it certainly did a good job of tricking me into believing one thing or another, and left me gnawing at my fingernails the whole time. There are devastatingly sad parts, parts where I couldn’t wipe the outrageous smile off my face, super sweet and slightly cheesy romantic sections, and chaotic action-packed elements.

I do however understand readers of this series who criticize the writing style, which is quite simple, or the character’s attitudes, or the occasionally repetitive plot line. America does occasionally annoy be for her inability to be decisive, but no one is perfect (even book characters), and her flaws make her seem more human.

This is not the sort of book I am proud to read for its difficult language or historical elements, but nonetheless I can’t help but enjoy it. This is a pure pleasure read for anyone interested in themes of dystopia, romance, or strong-willed females. There is so much more I would like to say but cannot without giving major plot points away (such as the winner of the Selection and the winner of America’s heart), although the cover and typical plot of amazing books like this one should be hint enough. However, I am desperate to discuss the outcome of this book with others who have read it, so please let me know in the comments if you want to talk about it.

This book could not have been a more perfect conclusion to the Selection series, and for sufferers of extreme book-withdrawal, I recommend Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers, Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, and The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. Although none of these books are dystopia (because, as I have said before it is not a genre I normally enjoy), they deal with romance in a similar fashion and are just as dear to my heart as The One now is. This book really and truly is the One.

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2014 by in Author: Gwen, Favorites, Review, Young Adult and tagged , , .
