Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Thoughts on YA Dystopian Novels

Today’s release of the Catching Fire movie inspired me to share my opinions of the dystopian genre in general, and the books I have read that fall in this category. I recently found this wonderful flow chart (I LOVE flow charts!) that helps identify the specific genre of a young adult novel that is either dystopian, isolated dystopian, or post-apocolypse.

There are only a few dystopian (and when I refer to dystopian, I am including isolated and post-apocolypse) novels that I have truly enjoyed, including The Selection by Kiera Cass, Blood Red Road by Moira Young, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and 1984 by George Orwell. There have been many others that I have read, including The Giver by Lois Lowry, Catching Fire and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Divergent by Veronica Roth, Delirium by Lauren Oliver, Matched by Allie Condie, The City of Ember by Jeanne DePrau, The Other Side of the Island by Allegra Goodman, and Dark Life by Kat Falls, but none of them amazed me. Then there were the ones I couldn’t even finish like Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin, Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver, The People of Sparks by Jeanne DePrau, and Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi. I have created a list of all of the dystopian novels I have read, organized by my ratings, with a to-read list at the end.

5 stars:

The Selection and The Elite by Kiera Cass

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

1984 by George Orwell

4 stars:

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Dark Life by Kat Falls

3 stars:

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Matched by Allie Condie

2 stars:

The City of Ember by Jeanne DePrau

The Other Side of the Island by Allegra Goodman

1 star:

I don’t hate dystopian novels that much!

Abandoned:

Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

The People of Sparks by Jeanne DePrau

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.

To-read (someday):

The One (released May 6th, 2014) by Kiera Cass

Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

Legend by Marie Lu

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Fever Crumb by Philip Reeve

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Dystopian novels are one of the most popular currently due to the success of The Hunger Games and Divergent. Although it is certainly not my favorite genre and I will never like it as much as fantasy or historical fiction, when I read books like The Selection and 1984, I finally understand what people see in them. I would recommend any of my top-rated books, and even the lower ones to real lovers of the genre.

Also check out this great book list: 15 Book Series to Read if you Enjoyed The Hunger Games!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2013 by in Author: Gwen, Book List, To-read, Young Adult and tagged .
