Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Kate’s Comments on Plain Kate by Erin Bow

The reason I read this book is because the main character’s name is Kate. I liked her because she was a smart character, who caught on to things sometimes before I did. I always think of it as a race: who can solve the mystery first – the character or me?

7877239

Rating: 4.5

Genres: Middle Grade (ages 10-12), Fantasy

Description:

Plain Kate lives in a world of superstitions and curses, where a song can heal a wound and a shadow can work deep magic. As the wood-carver’s daughter, Kate held a carving knife before a spoon, and her wooden charms are so fine that some even call her “witch-blade” — a dangerous nickname in a town where witches are hunted and burned in the square.

(From Goodreads.com)

Review:

The reason I read this book is because the main character’s name is Kate, just like mine! I liked her because she was a smart character, who caught on to things sometimes before I did. I always think of it as a race: who can solve the mystery first – the character or me?

Half a star was subtracted for weirdness (for example, a character goes mad) and I didn’t like the ending, which was oddly abrupt.

The point of the book is that she loses her shadow, and I got a little bored of the shadow theme, even though the story itself was very exciting.

This book was among many that I have read recently that includes talking animals, including Elissa’s Quest by Erica Verrillo, Half Magic by Edward Eager, and The Cat Returns (a movie).

I was disappointed at the beginning when Plain Kate had three kittens and they didn’t talk, but then one did, and I was pleasantly surprised!

There is a lot more I want to say about this book, but nothing else I can say that is not a spoiler, so you will just have to read it for yourself!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2013 by in Author: Kate, Middle Grade, Review and tagged , .
