Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Kate’s Favorites

Here is a list of my favorite books and their authors followed by funny and cute quotations that give a taste of the book.

1.) JK Rowling – Harry Potter series

Favorites: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

“You’re a prefect? Oh Ronnie! That’s everyone in the family!”

“What are Fred and I? Next door neighbors?” – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

2.) Shannon Hale – The Goose Girl and Book of a Thousand Days

“She was born Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, and she did not open her eyes for three days.” – The Goose Girl, first sentence

“This piglet she had no body—

she was only a head!

She rolled around while squealing,

moving by snout and by jaw

Happily snuffling for treats

without use of hoof or paw” – Book of a Thousand Days, Khan Tegus’s song

3.) Trenton Lee Stewart – The Mysterious Benedict Society series

“‘The Mysterious Benedict Society,’ Constance said, rising as she spoke. Then she left the room, apparently convinced that no more discussion was necessary. And, as it turned out, she was right.” – The Mysterious Benedict Society

4.) Maile Meloy – The Apothecary

“‘We have to think of a question that we wouldn’t otherwise want to answer.’

He stood over the pot, looking down at the leaves. ‘Something like, Who do you fancy?’

‘That might work,’ I said, even though it was the last question I wanted to answer. But it was impossible, suddenly, to tell a lie.

Benjamin took a deep sniff over the steam and turned to me. ‘All right,’ he said. ‘So who do you fancy?’

I hesitated. ‘Fancy means like, right?’ I said stalling.

‘Of course.’

I gritted my teeth against the answer coming out, but I couldn’t stop myself. ‘You,’ I said helplessly.” – The Apothecary

5.) Kerstin Gier – Ruby Red (The Ruby Red Trilogy)

“As I went down the steps, I could feel the others’ eyes on my back. Their mouths were probably open, too. Gordon’s was for sure.

‘Hi,’ I said when I had reached Gideon. It was all I could manage to say… Gideon’s smile grew wider… ‘Now, come on. We have a lot still to do today.’ He took my arm (a loud squeal could be heard from the steps) and guided me toward the limousine.” – Ruby Red

6.) Zilpha Keatley Snyder – The Egypt Game

7.) Jessica Day George – Sun, Moon, Ice and Snow and Princess Midnight Ball (The Princess Trilogy)

“It was a palace, made entirely of gold, sitting on an island of silver snow at the very top of the world. East of the sun, and west of the moon.” – Sun, Moon, Ice and Snow


8.) Gail Carson Levine – Ella Enchanted, Fairest, and Ever

9.) Margaret Peterson Haddix –Running Out of Time

10.) Jules Feiffer – A Barrel of Laughs, a Vale of Tears

 

6 comments on “Kate’s Favorites

  1. Kileh Friedman
    September 30, 2013

    Makes me want to read more.

  2. elaine stavitsky
    October 1, 2013

    Excellent book choices. I certainly will consider reading them.

  3. Carolina Sicotte
    October 11, 2013

    I love The Apothecary so much, thanks for the great book selections !

    • gwenkate
      October 11, 2013

      Thanks Carolina! Did you vote for The Apothecary for last year’s DCFs? I did!

      • Carolina Sicotte
        October 13, 2013

        Yes , it is a close call though because there are so many good DCF books!

  4. Pingback: Gwen’s Favorites | Gwen & Kate's Library

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2013 by in Author: Kate, Book List, Favorites, Middle Grade.

Navigation

