Gwen & Kate's Library

Two sisters' reviews of Young Adult and Middle Grade books, inspired by their lovely library.

Gwen’s Favorites

The hardest question you could ask me is what my favorite book is. My favorite book is always the one I have most recently read. Here is a list of books, series, and authors that I adore, will read again and again and never stop loving.

Favorite Books/Series:

Kristin Cashore – Graceling, Fire and Bitterblue (The Graceling Realm series)

This series tells a Hunger Games-like story of a girl “Graced” with a talent for murder, the last monster woman alive in the Dells, and the daughter of a murderous madman, and the court intrigue, wars, and romance surrounding them all.

R.L. LaFevers – Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin series)

This is a historical fiction series that takes place in Brittany in the late 1400s, about the typical court, war, and romance, and the atypical assassin nuns.

Sherwood Smith – Crown Duel/Court Duel (one book in two parts)

Possibly the best book ever written, Crown Duel tells the story of a war fought through cunning and trickery against force and might, and Court Duel illustrates the aftermath, and the battle of words and position in court.

Maria V. Snyder – Poison Study, Magic Study and Fire Study (Study series)

Yelena is saved from death by hanging only to wait for a slow death by poison… and a lot of romance, magic and awesome assassin moves.

Kerstin Gier –Ruby Red, Sapphire Blue and Emerald Green (The Precious Stone Trilogy)

Gwen (my namesake), is just a normal girl living in present-day London, only she can travel back in time, gets to wear beautiful ball gowns, flirt with handsome long-haired boys, and might die from the evil wrath of the Count of Saint-Germain.

L.A. Meyer – Bloody Jack series

It is the beginning of endless adventures, lovers, mysteries and daring escapes for headstrong Jacky Faber, when she jumps aboard the HMS Dolphin as a ship’s boy in the early 1800s.

Vivian Vande Velde – Heir Apparent (Rasmussen Corporation Book 2)

Giannine has no idea what she is in for when she hooks herself up to the virtual reality game Heir Apparent, and has to fight her way through head-chopping statues, backstabbing thieves, riddle-saying dwarves, untrustworthy handsome princes, and deadly dragons to win the game, and save her life.

Favorite Authors (and my favorite books by them):

Jessica Day George – Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow, Princess of the Midnight Ball series, Dragon Slippers series

Shannon Hale – The Goose Girl series, Book of a Thousand Days, Princess Academy series

Gail Carson Levine – Ella Enchanted, Fairest, The Two Princesses of Bamarre, Ever

Tamora Pierce – Song of the Lioness series, The Immortals series, Protector of the Small series, Trickster series, Beka Cooper series

Robin McKinley- The Hero and the Crown, The Blue Sword, Beauty

JK Rowling – Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

18 comments on “Gwen’s Favorites

  1. Kileh Friedman
    September 30, 2013

    Exciting tales.

  2. elaine stavitsky
    October 1, 2013

    These stories sound so fascinating that they even appeal to an adult. I intend to include them on my reading list. Elaine Stavitsky

    • gwenkate
      October 2, 2013

      Thanks for commenting Elaine! For an adult I’d recommend the Robin McKinley books, specifically The Hero and the Crown and The Blue Sword, and Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith. These are written in a more mature fashion and although they are fantasy, seem more developed and adult level. Enjoy! ~Gwen

  3. Alison
    June 12, 2014

    I haven’t read the Study series but it sounds really good! I’m pretty sure it will be one of those books that I’ll be kicking myself for not reading sooner. :)

    • gwenkate
      June 12, 2014

      Yes, you should definitely try Poison Study, especially if you like YA fantasy. It has an awesome hunt through the woods scene similar to my favorite part in Court Duel (also highly recommended as a similar style book with a much uglier cover), a strong female lead with deadly fighting skills, and great romance and adventure!

  4. classybooksxo
    July 18, 2014

    im so excited that you have Poison Study on this list. I absolutely adored that series, it’s definitely one of my favorites as well.
    -Amanda

  5. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    August 7, 2014

    Have now read Girl about Time (or Ruby Red as you call it) and loved it! Thank you so much for recommending I read this book next. X

    • gwenkate
      August 7, 2014

      Boy that was fast! Do you have Sapphire Blue and Emerald Green (or whatever they are called where you come from)? The story continues (and good thing too –because that is a terrible cliffhanger ending)! ~Gwen

  6. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    August 7, 2014

    Unfortunately I do not, but they are going on my wish list along with many other of your favourites, because clearly you have good taste! X

    • gwenkate
      August 7, 2014

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad to share! Not that I have time for any other books on my lengthy list at the moment, but do you have any favorites you think I would like?

  7. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    August 7, 2014

    Well, you should definitely read Touch of Power which is also by Maria V. Snyder. I also love The Mortal Instruments and especially The Infernal Devices, Have you read them? X

    • gwenkate
      August 7, 2014

      Touch of Power is definitely on my long to-read list! I attempted reading City of Bone once, but only got about 100 pages in before I realized that it is not really my kind of book. I tend to not really enjoy either paranormal or dystopia very much, because I have a natural distaste for popular books or genres, and Twilight and The Hunger Games (which I did enjoy) made them ever so popular these days.

  8. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    August 7, 2014

    Ahh, fair enough. I like how The Infernal Devices was set in the past. Have you read Throne of Glass? X

    • gwenkate
      August 7, 2014

      YES! It was one of the first books I reviewed. And Crown of Midnight — I can’t wait for Heir of Fire!! I didn’t really like the beginning, and it’s not a book I’m proud to like (it’s such a cheesy assassin hot girl book), but I can’t help it.

  9. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    August 7, 2014

    I really like it too, I also can’t wait for Heir of Fire!! It’s nice to have someone I can chat to in the blogging world, even it’s only through comments. Oh by the way, was casually stalking through your blog and loved your 100th post. So cool! X

    • gwenkate
      August 7, 2014

      Casually stalking is what we all do – thanks! It took a lot of work but was worth it! I love the book candles especially.

  10. alwaysopinionatedgirl
    August 7, 2014

    Yay internet stalking! Your blog is awesome! X

  11. Pingback: Mini Reviews – Girl About Time, You against Me and The World After | alwaysopinionatedgirl

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2013 by in Author: Gwen, Book List, Favorites, Young Adult.
